RSS

A Gift From My Dad

26 Apr

My name is Rob and I’m an old book junkie. I mean, I’m old and I love books. I also love old books. So you can take the title either way. It all comes out the same. Put me in a room full of books and I’m a happy camper. Literally. I’ll camp out in that room until my wife comes to pull me out of there.

I’ve been that way most of my life. I have my dad to thank for that. A love of books was his greatest gift to me. As a kid back in the late 50s and early 60s, Mom, Dad and I would drive down to Newport Beach or Laguna Beach and hit some of the thrift stores there. Of course, back then they were called “junk shops.” They were wonderful. Great old knick-knacks and curios and yes, books.

Dad would always head to the book section, and I’d tag along with him. I knew there was a good chance I’d score a cool book of some kind or another. Most of the time I was right. I was hooked early and I still can’t kick the habit. Nor do I want to.

Do you love books? Are book shops your favorite places? Do you frequent thrift stores or garage sales hoping to find some dusty, bound treasure? How did your love affair with books and words and ideas begin?

Come along, my friends. Let’s go exploring.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “A Gift From My Dad

  1. gpcox

    May 24, 2013 at 11:32 am

    I have a library of about 300 books and can’t even attempt to say how many I have given away!! Yes, I guess I love books.

     
    • Rob

      May 25, 2013 at 11:03 pm

      Books are truly an addiction, aren’t they? Always a pleasure to meet a fellow junkie! Please stop by again.

       

Leave a Reply

 
