RSS

Introducing Mr. Chesterton

10 May

Source: Wikipedia

I know, I know. “C. S. Lewis this, C.S. Lewis that. Do you ever read anyone besides Lewis?”

Actually, yes. As a matter of fact, I’ve begun a second reading of a book by an author who’s had a great influence on me. He was also a key influence on C.S. Lewis (Sorry. Couldn’t  help myself.)

Meet G.K. Chesterton. One of the most prolific English writers of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Chesterton was an essayist, a poet, a novelist, a playwright, a critic and an apologist. I’m probably forgetting something at that.

There is no shortage of links regarding Chesterton, but let me try to give you an idea of who he was. Think about a portly, dapper Christopher Hitchens and you start to get him. Except that G.K was on the side of the angels. He was one of the most brilliant writers and thinkers England ever produced.Too bad Chesterton and Hitchens were separated by a century. I would take out a third mortgage on my house to witness an encounter between those two giants.

Anyway, I’ve begun a second reading of Chesterton’s “Orthodoxy,” considered by many to be one of his greatest works. Needless to say, I’ll let you in on the best parts. Get ready!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 10, 2012 in Authors, What I'm Reading

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Introducing Mr. Chesterton

Leave a Reply

 
