RSS

Book Hunting: The Adventure Continues

07 Jun
Book Hunting: The Adventure Continues

My wife and I were out and about yesterday, so we stopped at one of the Stepping Stones thrift stores in Prescott Valley to do some hunting. Donna went looking for clothes and toys for our grandson, and me . . . well, you can guess what I was looking for.

I did find some interesting books even if the photo of them isn’t very good. The only digital camera we have is on our cell phone and it’s not a very good one. So let me go down the line, from left to right.

1) “What Your 2nd Grader Needs to Know” by E.D. Hirsch, Jr. (Doubleday, 1991) Hirsch, who wrote the 1987 bestseller “Cultural Literacy: What Every American Needs to Know,” turns his attention to American children with his Core Knowledge Series for grades one through six. I’ll be coming back to this one soon.

2) “Webster’s New Collegiate Dictionary,” (G. & C. Merriam Co., 1981) Sure, it’s an old dictionary and many of the modern, so-called words aren’t in here, but it has some wonderful articles on the English language and its history as well as a section on style and punctuation in the back. But mainly, it has many references to word origins in the definitions, and I really love that stuff!

3)”Fireside Reader” (The Reader’s Digest Association, Inc., 1978) OK. I know. Does any serious reader actually  buy a Reader’s Digest book? Yep! I only bought it because it contained G.K. Chesterton’s short story “The Hammer of God.” Besides, it was only a dime.

4)”The Portable Dorothy Parker, Revised and Enlarged Edition” (Penguin Books, 1976) I’ve heard of her, heard good things about her writing, but never read a word. An impulse buy. Again, only a dime. (I love this thrift store!)

5)”The Darwin Conspiracy” by John Darnton (Anchor Books, 2006) “Worth reading…crucial and…controversial.” – Washington Post Book World. Hey, if the Washington Post says I should read it!

6)”God’s Chosen Fast: A Spiritual and Practical Guide to Fasting” by Arthur Wallis (Christian Literature Crusade, 1974) A subject of personal interest to me.

Not a bad haul for under a buck.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 7, 2012 in Book Hunting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Book Hunting: The Adventure Continues

  1. crazykindness

    June 16, 2012 at 6:27 am

    I love doing book hunting in a thrift store too. My last treasure I found which I paid a $1 was Winston Churchill during the war. A great found, indeed!

     
  2. Rob

    June 16, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    Excellent! As a matter of fact, I’m heading out to a giant library book sale this morning. One of my favorite things in the world! Thanks for sharing your find and have a great weekend.

     

Leave a Reply

 
