RSS

New Books Obtained!

17 Jun
New Books Obtained!

Just in time for Father’s Day, our local library had a “Huge Outdoor Book Sale.” Just read the flyer. It says so.

Needless to say, I scored some great books as you will shortly read about. But first, let me say “Thanks!” to the “Friends of the Chino Valley Library” for all their hard work in putting this sale together. They do this once or twice a year and I never miss it.

So, from the bottom up:

1) “Winding Quest: The Heart of the Old Testament in Plain English,” by Alan T. Dale (Morehouse-Barlow Co., Inc., 1973)

2) “The Hebrew Scriptures: An Introduction to Their Literature and Religious Ideas,” by Samuel Sandmel (Oxford University Press, 1978) Sandmel was only one of the greatest Biblical scholars ever.

3) “The Unvarnished Gospels, Translated From the Original Greek,” by Andy Gaus (Threshold Books, 1988) A translation of the Gospels that “lets the original Greek speak for itself.”

4) “Why God Won’t Go Away: Brain Science and the Biology of Belief,” by Andrew Newberg, M.D., Eugene D’Aquili, M.D., Ph.D., and Vince Rause (Ballantine Books, 2002) According to the back cover, “explorations in the field of neurotheology.”  O.K. We’ll see.

5) “The People’s Bible: Revelation,” by Wayne D. Mueller (Northwestern Publishing House, 2002) A commentary on the Book of Revelation based on the New International Version of the Bible. Never my favorite New Testament book, so I figured I’d better learn more.

6) “Brewer: The Dictionary of Phrase and Fable,” by E. Cobham Brewer (Wordsworth Editions Ltd., 1993) From the back cover: “This invaluable dictionary explains the origins of the familiar and unfamiliar in phrase and fable. It includes the colloquial and the proverbial, embracing archaeology, history, religion, the arts, science, mythology, books and fictitious characters.” The new and enlarged edition was published in 1894. This is going to be fun!

7) “The Weekend Book,” Francis Meynell, editor (Duckworth Overlook in association with The Nonesuch Press, 2006) I haven’t a clue. It caught my eye and then my attention. Best I can tell, it’s like one of those “bathroom readers” but intended for an English weekend. I’ll get back to you.

8) “Inspirational Library,” four small books of compilations; Prayers for all Occasions, Psalms and Hymns, The Parables, and Best Loved Carols. Illustrated by Janet Robson Kennedy (Blue Ribbon Books, Rudolph J. Gutman and Samuel Nisenson, 1949) Four small books with beautiful period drawings by Robson. For the pure, simple pleasure of owning them.

I’m a happy daddy. Happy Father’s Day!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2012 in Book Hunting, Libraries, Old Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “New Books Obtained!

  1. David

    June 17, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    I love library book sales! They are the awesomest. I like how you were attracted mostly to books about Scripture and the gospel. I really need to do more spiritual reading myself; it’s not for lack of material, for sure, as our house has plenty of great works on the Bible. And not even lack of time, though I am busy and read plenty of other things. Just…lack of commitment, I guess, and a predilection towards being easily distracted. But I never regret reading something by a fellow Christian.

    Hm, I think it’s time to pick up Martin Lloyd-Jones’ Romans 6 again…

     
  2. Rob

    June 17, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    OK. You aroused my curiosity. Who is Martin Lloyd-Jones? Thanks, David.

     
    • David

      June 17, 2012 at 11:54 pm

      He’s great! Here’s his Wikipedia article for a brief background, but he’s a really fantastic theologian. Very focused on the centrality of the gospel to everything, he seems to confront the tough questions of Scripture more directly than many authors I’ve read (not that I’m particularly well-read in this area, yet, but my dad also says this about Lloyd-Jones). His book on Romans Chapter 6 is very in-depth, but really wonderful. I still haven’t finished it, but it was a wonderful source of encouragement. He doesn’t do devotionals — rather, he’s really focused on what the text is actually saying, what God means for us to glean from it, and how the text fits in with the rest of Scripture and the gospel. And his writing style is both very academic and yet fairly approachable, at least by my standards. He never gets so dry that his passion for Christ fades away.

       
  3. Rob

    June 18, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    Thanks for the info. I’ll check him out when I get a chance. Right now I’m reading a lot of N.T. Wright’s works. Just started his “After You Believe” and so far it’s excellent. He just had a new book published titled “How God Became King: The Forgotten Story of the Gospels.” Can’t wait to get it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
