RSS

Miscellany

18 Jul
Miscellany

Had a pretty good book-hunting weekend. This was my prize find, a virtually new copy of J.R.R. Tolkien’s “The Children of Hurin,” (Houghton Mifflin paperback edition, 2008). Edited by his son Christopher and illustrated by Alan Lee, it is the tale of the first Dark Lord, Morgoth and his battle against the Elves and the man Hurin.

I’ve been waiting to get my hands on this one. Thanks library book sale!

__________

For those interested, Dorothy Parker, the legendary writer and reviewer from The New Yorker and Esquire, has a Facebook page which deals very generously with her quotes. Go and “Like” it now. I mean, LOVE it!

__________

Read in the Wall Street Journal this weekend:

This year, e-books will account for more than half of my total sales, and I’m grateful for that. But in the back of my mind, I wonder whether a book is still a book if it is not a book.

               Thriller Novelist Daniel Silva

Good question, don’t you think?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2012 in Authors, Book Hunting, Quotations

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Miscellany

  1. David

    July 22, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    It’s a beautiful book! One of Tolkien’s most powerful stories, and some of Alan Lee’s most evocative illustrations. I have it, too, and it’s a treasure.

     
    • Rob

      July 23, 2012 at 1:24 am

      I’m lookiing forward to this one. Hope to start it soon. Thanks for stopping by, David.

       

Leave a Reply

 
