RSS

The LOTR Mouthwash

12 Sep

I remember a letter that Lewis wrote to someone who read the newspapers and he said “if you must read newspapers and magazines at least give yourself a mouthwash with The Lord of the Rings.” I think we all read newspapers and magazines and see this horrid modern language, and we’re used to shoddy writing and shoddy imagining, and I think we all need one great book to have a mouthwash with, once a year. It’s absolutely required.

– Walter Hooper, C.S. Lewis’s personal secretary, from “Tolkien: A Celebration”

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2012 in Quotations

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The LOTR Mouthwash

  1. habitang

    September 24, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    hahaha. I remember reading LOTR and purposefully skipping most of the glorious description and opting to imagine from the movie. I think it is time for another mouthwash!

     
    • Rob

      September 25, 2012 at 1:35 am

      Oh my! You need to read Tolkien’s own account of the battles. They’re marvelous. Thanks once again for visiting my blog!

       
  2. jubilare

    September 26, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    I don’t mind all modern language, but I agree on the shoddy writing and shoddy imagining front. I’ve thanked God for Tolkien more than once.

     
    • Rob

      September 27, 2012 at 1:06 am

      Amen to that, my friend.

       

Leave a Reply

 
