RSS

Supercalifragilistic . . . Um . . . Oh, To Heck With It!

12 May

I remember the day I went from being a book lover to an actual reader. No, I don’t remember the exact day or date, just the experience. It was Mary Poppins Bookson a weekend and I was at my grandparents’ house in Santa Ana, California. I was sitting in my grandfather’s big, comfy chair totally absorbed in a beautiful, hard bound edition of the complete Mary Poppins stories by P.L. Travers. I sat in that chair for hours and devoured page after page about that magical nanny. It was the first large hardback book I ever read all the way through and, being only 9 or 10 years old at the time, I was quite proud of myself.

I bring this up because the other day at my favorite thrift store I came across three Mary Poppins books, in paperback, conveniently banded together. I think I paid fifty cents for all three. It’s been over 40 years since I read Mary Poppins, and with the movie “Saving Mr. Banks” (you DO know who Mr. Banks is, don’t you?) out on DVD now, I’m really looking forward to revisiting these stories.

By the way, P.L. Travers wasn’t your run of the mill children’s writer. She was what you might call an intellectual adventuress (among other things). She had a fascination with the world’s mythologies and traveled extensively.  Back in the 80’s she was a regular contributor to the quarterly publication Parabola, which explored various myths and legends and their effects on culture and religion. Though she is no longer with us, she definitely left her own mark on our culture.

Keep your eyes on the East Wind!

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2014 in Book Hunting, Children's Books, Favorite Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Supercalifragilistic . . . Um . . . Oh, To Heck With It!

  1. jubilare

    May 13, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    I have never read these. Isn’t that a shame? I must find copies somewhere.

     
    • Rob

      May 15, 2014 at 11:31 pm

      By all means, find them and read them. Mary Poppins is truly an enchanting read. Like I said, I haven’t read them in years and can’t wait to revisit the Banks family!

       

Leave a Reply

 
