RSS

Well, Look What We Have Here!

07 Sep

My wife’s been gone this past week, visiting family back in Wisconsin. So, what’s an old book junkie going to do to pass the time but go book hunting at his favorite thrift stores and library book sales? Not too predictable, am I?

I won’t go into all the books I came up with, but I will brag about my favorite find of the week. Resting inconspicuously on the bottom shelf of the religion section at the Prescott Public Library was the complete two-volume set titled “The Gifts of the Child Christ: Fairy Tales and Stories for The Childlike,” by George Mac Donald, edited by Glenn Edward Sadler. It’s a collection of the shorter fairy tales and stories by this famous author who influenced such writers as C.S.Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and Charles Williams. It was originally published in 1973 by Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co., and the two-volume set cost $7.95 at the time. Can you imagine that? I’d hate to see what it would cost today!

I’d post a photo, but my wife has the camera. I’ll try to get a pic up here soon.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2014 in Authors, Book Hunting, Libraries, Old Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Well, Look What We Have Here!

  1. jubilare

    September 8, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    I am definitely envious. I’d be curious to know if it contains any of his stories that I don’t have yet.
    The vital question I always have when finding a MacDonald is whether or not it has been mauled by a well-meaning but misguided editor. Some of the abridgements of his work make me cry, and not in a good way.

     
    • Rob

      September 9, 2014 at 2:13 am

      Since this is published by Wm Eerdmans, a respected Christian publisher, I have a hunch the stories were unabridged. The main story was the book’s title, The Gifts of the Child Christ. Each volume has ten stories and an essay by MacDonald. Maybe I’ll do another post with a list of the stories with some pictures of the book, now that my wife is back home with the phone/camera!

       

Leave a Reply

 
